A message from an atheist

I never intended for this blog to be full of arguments and disagreements.  However it has been a useful place for me to be able to put my ideas, thoughts and arguments down.

I totally agree with the Ricky Gervais quote above.  I have met more Christians that I like than dislike.  Most of them know that I’m an atheist and don’t try to convert me in the same way that I don’t try to convert them to atheism.

However, what has upset me has been the proliferation of Christians on Pinterest who are INTENT on arguing with me.  I almost deleted all my pins, but I’m a stubborn woman (Taurean AND born in the Chinese year of the Ox – not that I believe in that but I thought it would be funny to mention it in the ‘same breath’ as atheism) and have actually posted more today!  There was also part of me that was going to look at Christian pins that people have posted and state how beautiful some of the quotes are that they are using.  But this might be counter productive.

You see, I DO think that there are some wonderful quotes in the bible:

The price of wisdom is above rubies.  Job 28:18

Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Romans 12:9

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 1 Corinthians 13: 4-18

Work hard and become a leader; be lazy and never succeed. (Proverbs 12:24)

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

I could post many more – however – here are some other quotes I love, written or said by other men or women:

True education flowers at the point when delight falls in love with responsibility. – Philip Pullman

Everything has a meaning, if only we could read it. – Philip Pullman

Intelligence is not to make no mistakes, but quickly to see how to make them good. – Bertolt Brecht

War is what happens when language fails. – Margaret Atwood

If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or Fight Like Hell. – Lance Armstrong

Cruelty might be very human, and it might be cultural, but it’s not acceptable. – Jodie Foster

All of these people are either atheists or agnostics!

The world would be a much better place if we all just embraced beauty and love instead of arguing about whether there is or isn’t a god.

One comment

Leave a Reply

