This isn’t a creepy stalker thing – honest

It’s time for me to ‘fess up – I have a massive girl crush and I have had since time immemorial – or at least it seems that way.

You see, back in the early 90s there was a short-lived programme on TV called Naked City and one of its hosts was a young woman called Caitlin Moran.  I still have an episode of it tucked away somewhere on VHS where Bob Downe performed.  But I was entranced by the host.  I knew she was only a couple of years younger than me and was amazed that this vivacious, sexy, intelligent woman was doing so much more with her life than I was.

A few years down the line I posted some of my wares on ebay, one of them being an Aladdin VHS.  Someone called Caitlin Moran bought it, I emailed her back and asked if she was ‘the’ Caitlin Moran – she was.  I was so excited for some bizarre reason.

I’ve followed her work ever since – her writing for The Times, her book, ‘How To Be A Woman’ and her tweets.  I’m not stalking her, honestly, I just have a truly massive girl crush on her.

Today someone pinned this on Pinterest:

It prompted this post.

I can’t eloquently say why I think she’s an amazing woman.  Why she’s so inspiring or why I want to give every teenage girl that I teach a copy of her book.  But I do want to share with you one of my other favourite Caitlin Moran quotes:

“If you want to know what’s in motherhood for you, as a woman, then – in truth – it’s nothing you couldn’t get from, say, reading the 100 greatest books in human history; learning a foreign language well enough to argue in it; climbing hills; loving recklessly; sitting quietly, alone, in the dawn; drinking whisky with revolutionaries; learning to do close-hand magic; swimming in a river in winter; growing foxgloves, peas and roses; calling your mum; singing while you walk; being polite; and always, always helping strangers. No one has ever claimed for a moment that childless men have missed out on a vital aspect of their existence, and were the poorer, and crippled by it.”
Caitlin Moran, How To Be A Woman

In her book she had written about the joys (and pains) of motherhood.  As a woman heading childless towards her 40s I still feel an ache inside sometimes that I will never be called mum (apart from when another teacher walked into my registration class and addressed me as ‘mum’ accidentally; or from the numerous students who sometimes do it – accidentally).  I’ve never wanted children however there is a slight ache about this.  It’s difficult to explain.  Anyway, as I read her book, and read about her joys with her children it made the ache somewhat heavier.  Then, I read the passage above.  And I know that this feeling I have inside isn’t real.  I KNOW I don’t want children and it’s just a part of my age and conditioning that causes this.

So thank you Ms Moran.  I know this may seem like a creepy teenage love letter to you but I assure you it’s not.  It’s simply thanking you for reminding me that my desire to remain childless does not make me a freak.  That I can be a whole woman without rugrats and when people say to me ‘don’t you think you are missing out?’ I regale them with the things that they are missing out on by NOT having children. They walk off more depressed and empty the local Tescos of their cheapest wines.

How To Be a Woman – Caitlin Moran

Caitlin Moran on Twitter

One comment

Leave a Reply

