Why ‘some women’ don’t want children

Yes, as strange as it may sound, there are some women out there who don’t want children!  I’m one of them.  I’ve gone through phases of my hormones kicking in and making me broody however I’m thankful that my brain kicks in and reminds me that I’ve never wanted children and that I’m quite happy to be an aunty.

I came across this ‘article’ today that just really annoyed me: http://www.divinecaroline.com/22123/84463-some-don-t-children/2#ixzz26mvlcZx8

Especially the last section:

Whatever a woman’s reasons for not wanting kids might be, you should never judge her. Usually her reasons are sensible and deserve to be respected.

Thank you … I’m glad to have someone telling the world on my behalf that my reasons are to be respected as long as they’re ‘sensible’.  Look at the western world today, a world that doesn’t ‘need’ children.  A world where half of the population could stop breeding tomorrow and we could still probably carry on.  However for selfish and often arrogant reasons people breed.  What other reasons are there for having children other than ‘I want one’ and ‘I want to carry on the family line’?
How are these sensible reasons?
I’m sure I’ve ranted about this before but I hate being labelled a ‘freak’ or ‘weirdo’ because I don’t want children.
One comment

Leave a Reply

