Book Review – City of Darkness (City of Mystery #1) – Kim Wright

City of Darkness (City of Mystery, #1)City of Darkness by Kim Wright

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

When I saw this book being offered for free on Kindle Users Forum I was really excited. I SO wanted to love this book. I’ve lived in London over half of my life and am fascinated with this city – especially during the Victorian era. Like a lot of people, I am also slightly fascinated by the Ripper murders. So this book should have been perfect for me.

The good bit – I managed to finish it! So that’s not a bad thing because I often stop reading a book as soon as it starts annoying me. However there were elements of this book that kept me reading. Most of the characters were engaging enough to make me want to find out more about them and I like to read books that explore that era and the murders.

Unfortunately I can’t give this book more than 2 stars (‘it was ok’) because there were a couple of things that really irritated me about it.

Firstly the inconsistencies in the dialogue. Sometimes it felt as if the characters were in Victorian London and others they were sitting in Starbucks in 21st Century USA. A writer needs to give their characters a consistent voice and vernacular for you to believe them and engage with them, unfortunately I didn’t feel as though this was true.

Secondly, and this may seem petty to some, the Americanisms of the language really got to me after a while. I know that this book must have been researched so why did the author use ‘sidewalk’, ‘trash’ and describe people as traveling ‘blocks’? If I was reading a book set in America then fine, but Victorian London?

This was an interesting premise and the ‘real’ Ripper in the story surprised me (although we all know it’s Tumblety right?). So it was ok. Just that. Ok.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

