Book Review – Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

Witch HuntWitch Hunt by Syd Moore

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is a really hard book for me to review because I finished it. However I can’t say much more than ‘it was ok’. Because it was, it was ok.

I originally downloaded it because it was about Matthew Hopkins and the witch hunts in my old neck of the woods, East Anglia, specifically Essex (I was raised in Suffolk). Also I like a good, creepy ghost story.

What I enjoyed about the book was the research about Matthew Hopkins and the unravelling of the mystery surrounding his life and death. In fact, I think I would have enjoyed the book a lot more if it was the book Sadie/ Mercedes was writing in the novel. The writing of these passages was more animated, intelligent and thoughtful.

Unfortunately I really didn’t like the main character – she frustrated me with her lack of insight into certain aspects. She was painted as an investigative journalist yet she was extremely dense when it came to important aspects of her own life and those around her. Why didn’t she just screen dump the messages on Facebook? GAH!

I also didn’t like pointless passages about the meaningless things she did that were apart from her Hopkins quest. I know she wanted to fill us in on Sadie’s life however I found some of the detail overly described.

Still – I kept turning to other books on my Kindle, finished them, then turned back to this so it maintained my attention and definitely picked up 3/4 of the way through. So much so that I was gripped in the last few chapters.

So yes, it’s ok.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

