The Sisters Brothers – Peter deWitt

The Sisters BrothersThe Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one of those books where my choice to read it was the cover – strange that I didn’t buy the ‘hard copy’ and instead bought it on Kindle.

I wanted to read this last year, read the blurb, put it back. Picked it up again, read the blurb, read the first paragraph, put it back again.

Then, it was on Amazon at a special price for the Kindle so I thought I’d finally read it. I started on the way to work one morning and nearly missed my stop. The same happened as I read it on the way home. I had finished it in a space of less than 24 hours (the joys of spending 3 hours a day commuting).

So what is so engaging about this book? The writing just grips you – pulls you in. Eli, the narrator and one half of the Sisters brothers is a simple yet violent character. He and his brother, Charlie, work for the Commodore during the gold rush era. By ‘work’ I mean ‘kill’. They are sent to San Francisco to hunt down Warm and shoot him dead – the book mostly follows their journey to San Francisco on this quest.

To be honest, nothing much happens in the book; drinking, whoring, shooting, killing. But there isn’t that much action. You don’t need it. The stories, the characters, the reactions to situations are what keeps you gripped.

I found it hard to put this book down.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

