A review of my review

I can understand people disliking my opinion.  I’m very opinionated and sometimes this rubs people up the wrong way.  I accept that.  Everyone is entitled to their opinion, including me.  However, what I hate (and if anyone has read any other posts on this blog you will know this) are people who are irrational and ill-informed in their comments.

Recently I reviewed a book called The Key To Erebus.  Like all of my reviews it was written on Goodreads first then posted here on my blog.  For the first time someone chose to comment on my review on Goodreads:

Screen shot 2013-02-28 at 02.22.52I totally took it on board that I got the name of the lead character wrong – but that did also make my point that she was so dull that I couldn’t even remember it a few hours after finishing the book!

So here’s my response:

Screen shot 2013-02-28 at 02.24.43Yes, I got annoyed, hence the questions. I really didn’t understand her use of the word ‘bias’.  Firstly I didn’t understand why the issue of bias was even raised with regard to a review.  A review is your personal opinion, right?  Or am I getting this wrong?  Should I really be encouraging people to waste a few hours on this Buffy/ Twilight knock-off?

So she responded (natch):

Screen shot 2013-02-28 at 02.25.09Where did I review Buffy and Twilight???????? ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Screen shot 2013-02-28 at 02.25.21Yeah – she got my back up!

Has anyone else come across people who dislike their reviews enough to make you want to argue the toss with them?

One comment

  1. How bizarre? Her replies seem to be argument for arguments sake rather than constructive criticism of your review.
    I don’t want come across as sexist, but perhaps it was her time of the month?

    Like

Leave a Reply

