Put a bird on it!

So I’m still off work – the infection AND the antibiotics have succeeded in making me feel so nauseous and dizzy that I haven’t eaten a meal in 3 days.  I feel quite terrible.  So I thought I’d share some more free charts from archive.org.

Inspired by the ‘Put a bird on it’ sketch on Portlandia:

I’ve decided to share some cross stitch charts with birds on them!

Again the charts are from scans of books that are in the public domain. I have tried to put a link to the original book underneath.

Birds1
Muster altdeutscher Leinenstickerei : IV (1888) – it’s worth looking at this book just for the plates in the front! Beautiful.
birds4

Muster altdeutscher Leinenstickerei : IV (1888)

birds2

The Priscilla filet crochet book, no. 2 ; a collection of beautiful designs in filet crochet, introducing filet crochet brodé, embroidery on crochet and cameo crochet (1914)

Later on today I’m going to continue the theme with peacock cross stitch designs – so please come back and have a look.

And while I’m here I thought I’d share some of my favourite bird cross stitch designs from across the web.  Some are free charts, some are just examples of cross stitch I love:

Firstly the awesomeness that is Felicity Hall:

Felicity Hall_bird

If you go to this link here you can find the free cross stitch chart on her website.  I’m sure you’ve all heard of Felicity Hall but if you haven’t look at her other designs.  She truly is royalty in the cross stitch world.

This next design is a free cross stitch pattern from gazette94 – a wonderful (yet unfortunately now defunct) website that has SO many free patterns.

gazette94_birdThankfully for us the website still is up and has its free resources there.So find gazette94 here.

Next up is another blog that is so generous with her free cross-stitch charts – Luli.  She has created this beautifully simple chart with birds sitting on cherry blossom:

Luli - cherryblossom

Another simple design which would be nice as a border – I think this was originally a knitting chart as it was pinned from Tricksy Knitter.  The colours are very Christmassy too!

Screen shot 2013-11-11 at 07.29.35

Finally some awesome swallows from Craft Gossip:

Screen shot 2013-11-11 at 07.32.41So go on … PUT A BIRD ON IT!

Leave a Reply

