Is being drunk conducive to taking good pictures? …

This is indeed a question that, as a gig photographer I ask myself a lot. After all I’ve photographed a lot of gigs and been drunk at many of them. Not fall over, vomit in the corner drunk, but a wee bit tipsy drunk. So why would I do that knowing that I’m there to take photos? Well, partly my chronic shyness. I know (to those that know me) I don’t come across as chronically shy but I do, still, get horrendously nervous photographing. So – is being drunk conducive to taking good photos?

This all stems from a line from the The Rock ‘n’ Roll Diaries, a book by Jamie Scallion, once (still?) the lead singer of Officer Kicks.

This wonderful tome is a “series of novels … (which) … follows the journey and rise to fame of four teenage boys from South London.” for that ever increasing market of young adults!

But there was one line that stood out for me as I spent so many evenings travelling to various parts of London to photograph Jamie and the other Officer Kicks boys:

“Egg wondered if being drunk was conducive to taking good pictures.”

Well – you tell me!  I thought I did an ok job and most of the time I was a few drinks down.  To be honest, I always felt that being a little bit tipsy (not catatonic – I made the mistake of doing that before a Charlatans gig and forever regret it) helped me with my confidence.

So onto my recent outing with my trusty prime lens for another foray into photographing a gig in a lowly lit venue.

I do like Bad Wolf – have you noticed?

They played on Friday at Sebright Arms in Bethnal Green, hidden downstairs.  Unfortunately I can’t tell you too much about the gig because I was a wee bit drunk and can’t remember what they played. But I had fun!

Here’s some of the photos, and here’s a link to my website with them.  Enjoy and let me know, is being drunk conducive to taking good pictures?

WEB_BADWOLF_SEBRIGHT_21NOV2014 (10 of 60)-M WEB_BADWOLF_SEBRIGHT_21NOV2014 (11 of 60)-M WEB_BADWOLF_SEBRIGHT_21NOV2014 (16 of 60)-M WEB_BADWOLF_SEBRIGHT_21NOV2014 (21 of 60)-M WEB_BADWOLF_SEBRIGHT_21NOV2014 (27 of 60)-M

 

Leave a Reply

