Making It – The Rock ‘n’ Roll Diaries by Jamie Scallion

Making It (Rock ‘n’ Roll Diaries, #1)Making It by Jamie Scallion
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the kind of book I wanted to read when I was a ‘young adult’. In the 80s we had ‘Sweet Valley High’ and Judy Blume tomes (not that I am criticising Ms Blume – I was a big fan and my copy of ‘Forever’ always fell open on ‘certain pages’) but nothing about Rock n Roll … nothing about boys in tight trousers playing guitars.
The band in the book are diverse, like most rock bands are. They are a mish-mash of YA character types who come together to create a sound that rocks the scene. Much in the same way as I have seen many bands do before.
I read this with a wry grin on my face as I photographed and loved Officer Kicks for many years. Although I didn’t see the boys I know in the characters in the books there are moments I’m sure were reaped from real life!
This novel is essential for any boy or girl who wants to venture into the world of rock and I loved it.
Good work Jamie – when’s the next one out?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

